+ 001 0231 123 32



All demo content is for sample purposes only, intended to represent a live site. Please use the RocketLauncher to install an equivalent of the demo, all images will be replaced with sample images.

  • Simple Item 1
  • 1

For the first time in three years the Bishop Joseph Grech Scholarship has been able to take place in person. Eight of the eleven worthy recipients joined Executive Director of Catholic Education Sandhurst, Mr Paul Desmond at an awards ceremony in Bendigo on Thursday June 16.

Mr Paul Desmond said that the Bishop Joseph Grech scholarship was one of his favourite events of the year. "To speak with these incredible students and to get a sense of the calibre of young people in our schools is truly inspiring," he said.

"Each year I have the privilege of speaking with the Bishop Joseph Grech Scholarship recipients and I am always richer for the encounter. These young people are truly amazing, they stand up for what is right, they look for opportunities to make their communities better places and they instil a sense of confidence in me that the future of our world is in very good hands," said Mr Desmond.


Deputy Principal at St Augustine’s College, Kylie Morrisey paid tribute to Bishop Joe whom she remembered as being passionate about making opportunities for young people to connect with their faith.

“Bishop Joe especially loved the company of young people, he worked with them, and for them. He played a significant role in World Youth Day events in the lead up to Sydney in 2008,” said Kylie.  

The scholarship recognises exceptional young people in Sandhurst Secondary Schools who contribute to the life of their colleges through their commitment to their faith and to social justice.

“The Bishop Joe Scholarship enables Catholic Education Sandhurst to continue his legacy to the young people of the Sandhurst Diocese and gives recipients the opportunity to flourish as leaders within their schools, and in the wider community,” said Paul.

This year’s scholarship winners have identified a diverse range of programs and immersions that the Bishop Joseph Grech scholarship will enable them to attend.

Congratulations to the Bishop Joe Scholarship winners for 2022

Nathan Batt - St Augustine’s College Kyabram (Year 11)
‘’Nathan gives every task his best effort and sets a wonderful example for his fellow learners. Nathan is growing in confidence to share his ideas and demonstrates great sensitivity toward and gentle care for others.’  Kylie Morrisey – Deputy Principal
Program: Establish a breakfast club for St Augustine’s College Kyabram

Elliott Binks – St Mary of the Angels Nathalia (Yr 11)
‘a kind and generous individual who sets a positive example for those around her, especially for the younger students which shows her ability to become a future leader.’ Gemma Bell – Teacher
Program: Student Leader – SMOTA Yr 9 Indigenous Australian Immersion Program

Emily Woods – St Mary of the Angels Nathalia (Yr 11)
‘Her leadership qualities are that of a focused and quiet influence on the people around her. She is a servant leader, and will often help out behind the scenes, offering help doing what needs to be done without requiring accolades for it.’  Carmel Mills – Teacher
Program: Student Leader – SMOTA Yr 9 Indigenous Australian Immersion Program

Patrick Comer – Galen Catholic College Wangaratta (Yr 11)
‘Patrick is a fantastic leader of faith at Galen College. He demonstrates our school’s values of Faith & Integrity in all he does.’  Lyndel Annett – Co-Leader: RE Learning Area
Program: Ignite Catholic Youth Conference  

Emily Gleeson – St Anne’s College Kialla (Yr 11)
‘Emily is inclusive and supportive of her peers and contribute positively to the College community.’ Sue Carroll – Principal
Program: Australian Catholic Youth Festival

Ruby Oman – St Joseph’s College Echuca (Yr 11)
‘Ruby is a student who can be relied upon to take on any role or task asked of her without fuss and always to a very high standard.’ Tracey Pearson – Brigid House Leader
Program: National Leadership Camp - Burn Bright

Angus Shanahan – Notre Dame College Shepparton (Yr 10)
‘I believe that Angus will continue to be a wonderful leader at Notre Dame College and that this scholarship will only inspire him further to raise people’s awareness of the sacred dignity of all people through the artistic medium.’ Kris Walker – Deputy Principal Learning & Teaching
Program: Community Performing Arts Program to celebrate the empowerment and dignity of performers with a disability

Jessica Stewart – Catholic College Wodonga (Yr 10)
‘Jessica always contributes, in and outside school time, to faith driven events that continue to challenge her and support her community.’ Catherine McKinley – Member of Sacred Heart Congregation
Program: Ignite Catholic Youth Conference 

In Absentia:
Paige Duffy – Sacred Heart College Yarrawonga (Yr 11)
‘Paige has been an active member and leader of Faith and Justice for the past two years and this role is a clear extension of her moral foundations.’ Fleur Linehan - Deputy Principal Teaching & Learning
Program: Faith & Culture Tour Shepparton

Abbie Flack – Marian College Myrtleford (Yr 11)
‘Abbie is a responsible, mature and intelligent young woman who has proven herself as a leader among her peers, within the college and in her local community.’ Brad Carroll - Senior School Leader
Program: Stronger Rally for the Myrtleford community

Davide Genero – Marian College Myrtleford (Yr 10)
‘Davide has demonstrated initiative and excellent organisational skills in all that he has achieved and is always willing to try something new and take up opportunities.’ Tony Cuskelly - Learning Mentor
Program: Father Chris Riley’s Youth off the Streets

Bendigo Office

120 Hargreaves St
PO Box 477
Bendigo, 3552
Ph: (03) 5443 2377

Tatura Office

74 Hogan St
Tatura, 3616
Ph: (03) 5443 2377

Wangaratta Office

29 Templeton St
PO Box 1181
Wangaratta, 3677
Ph: (03) 5443 2377


General Enquiries